Board of Health

The Moore County Board of Health is the policy making, rule-making and adjudicatory body for Moore County Health Department. The Board of Health has the responsibility to protect and promote the public health. It has the authority to adopt rules necessary for that purpose.

The Board is composed of eleven members that reasonably reflect the population makeup of the county. By law, the eleven members of the Board include eight designated professionals and three representatives of the general public. The members are appointed by the Moore County Board of Commissioners.

The Moore County Board of Health:

  • Follows North Carolina General Statutes.
  • The Board meets quarterly at the request of the Chair.
  • The Board shall be the policy-making, rule-making, and adjudicatory body for the Health Department.
  • The Board of County Commissioners shall appoint eleven (11) members, which shall include one (1) licensed physician, one (1) licensed dentist, one (1) licensed pharmacist, one (1) County Commissioner, one (1) professional engineer, one (1) registered nurse, one (1) licensed optometrist, one (1) licensed veterinarian, and three (3) persons from the general public.  The composition shall reasonably reflect the population makeup of the entire County.
  • The Board of Health shall elect its own Chair annually.  The County Health Director shall serve as Secretary to the County Board of Health.
  • Board meetings begin at 6 p.m. and are held at the Rick Rhyne Public Safety Center's Community Meeting Room located on the 2nd floor (302 S McNeill St, Carthage, NC).
  • The Board Chair may set called meetings, as necessary.
  • All Board of Health meetings are open to the public. 
    - Public Comment Procedures

Questions about the Board, meetings or appointments can be directed to the Secretary to the Board at 910-947-4512. Matthew Garner, Interim Health Director, serves as the Secretary to the Board of Health.

MemberInitial Date of AppointmentCurrent Term Expires
Julie Baugher, M.D. (Physician)2/20232/2026
Pauline Sandness, R.N., B.S.N. (Nurse)5/20224/2025
M. Nixon (Nick) Ellis, Ph.D., M.B.A.(Member-at-Large) 9/20238/2026
David Williams, B.S., M.A. (Member-at-Large) 7/20226/2025
VACANT (Engineer)N/AN/A
Tom LoSapio (Member-at-Large)1/20234/2026
Robert Lupski, R.Ph., M.S. (Pharmacist)  4/20223/2025
Alex White, Dr.P.H, M.S., M.P.H., D.D.S. (Dentist) Chair5/20224/2025
Kurt Cook (County Commissioner)1/2023Ex-Officio
Benjamin Wacker, O.D. (Optometrist)8/20208/2023
Janice Baker, D.V.M., M.S., D.A.C.V.P.M. (Veterinarian)9/20209/2023