Medicaid is a health insurance program for low-income individuals and families who cannot afford health care costs. Medicaid serves low-income parents, children, seniors, and people with disabilities.

Medicaid is a little different, depending on who you are and your situation.


Medicaid serves low-income parents, children, seniors, and people with disabilities. There are different types of coverage for people with different needs. Income and resource limits for each of these groups vary:

  • Aged, Blind, and Disabled
  • Infants, Children, and Families
  • Long-Term Care
  • Medicare Recipients

To be eligible for Medicaid, you must also:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or provide proof of eligible immigration status. Individuals only applying for emergency services are not required to provide documentation of immigration status.
  • Live in North Carolina, and provide proof of residency.
  • Have a Social Security number or have applied for one.

You are automatically eligible for Medicaid if you receive any of the following benefits:

  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
  • Work First Family Assistance
  • State/County Special Assistance for the Aged or Disabled (Adult Care Home Assistance)
  • Special Assistance to the Blind

To receive Medicaid, you do not have to go through a physical or other type of exam. However, if you are applying because you are disabled, a medical exam may be required. If you are applying for Medicaid because you are pregnant, proof of pregnancy is required.

What Medicaid Covers

Medicaid may help pay for certain medical expenses such as:

  • Doctor Bills
  • Hospital Bills
  • Prescriptions (Excluding prescriptions for Medicare beneficiaries)
  • Vision Care
  • Dental Care
  • Medicare Premiums
  • Nursing Home Care
  • Personal Care Services (PCS), Medical Equipment, and Other Home Health Services
  • In-home care under the Community Alternatives Program (CAP)
  • Mental Health Care
  • Most medically necessary services for children under age 21