|Concealed Handgun Permit|
North Carolina law requires that residents wanting to carry a concealed weapon obtain a carry concealed weapon permit from the county Sheriff's Office where they reside. To apply for a concealed carry permit citizens must attend a concealed carry class. These classes are not offered by the Sheriff's Office but are offered by many of the local gun stores. You must bring the following to the Sheriff's Office when submitting your application for a concealed handgun permit;
1. Mental health check from DAY MARK, Sandhills Center for Mental Health, 205 Memorial Drive Pinehurst, NC (295-6853). You must request in person and pay them $10.00 and bring the paperwork they give you to the Sheriff's Office.
2. Valid form of identification. This can be a driver's license, identification card, military ID, etc. North Carolina driver's license and identification cards should have current address on them, unless active duty military.
3. Original certificate of completion from an approved weapons instruction course. (Only original certificates will be accepted).
4. Proof of Moore County residency. You must have remained a resident of Moore County for at least 30 days prior to the application. Proof includes; lease agreements, rental payment receipts, utility bills, tax statements, etc.
5. Veterans should bring a copy of their DD-214 (Veterans only).
Citizens may then complete an application at the Moore County Sheriff's Office Monday thru Friday from 9am-12pm and 2pm-4pm. Applicants need to have a North Carolina Driver's License with their current address on it, unless active duty military. During the application process the applicant will be fingerprinted for a background check. The cost of a concealed carry permit is $90.00 and if issued the permit is valid for five years. If the permit is denied the $90.00 is non-refundable. Persons convicted of or currently charged with felonies and certain misdemeanors (ie. domestic violence offenses, assaults, driving while impaired, etc.) may not be eligible for concealed carry permits. The back of the concealed carry application lists all of the offenses that may be reasons for denial of the permit. The current turn around time for concealed carry permits is approximately 90 days from the completion of the application.